Saint Patrick’s Church of Chicopee was on Sheridan Street. See the 1896 Sanborn map below.
The church was dedicated on December 15 1872. The rectory was built in 1872 and this became the convent in 1880. In the spring of 1873 the cemetery was made. The cemetery is explained HERE. The school was made in 1880 and was staffed by the Sisters of Saint Joseph. A new rectory was made nearby. Both the school and rectory were made on Columba Street which is a few streets away from Sheridan Street.
|John R Murphy||1922||1934||FINDAGRAVE|
|Patrick F Doyle||1935||FINDAGRAVE|
|W Alton O’Toole||1936||1937||FINDAGRAVE|
|John R Rooney||1938||1946||FINDAGRAVE|
|Francis William Hafey||1946||1948||FINDAGRAVE|
|Joseph C Fenton||FINDAGRAVE|
In 1938 a new location was bought for the church and the rectory. Construction did not start until March 1947 and the first mass was Feb 13 1949. Wendell Phillips was the architect and Edward Larkin the builder.
The old St Patricks School was replaced in April 17 1970 with a new one.