The Holy Mother of the Rosary Cemetery is in Chicopee Massachusetts. It was purchased from Chicopee on June 26 1897 from a portion of the land of Fairview Cemetery. It belongs to the Holy Mother of the Rosary Church which is a Polish National Church in Chicopee.
1 -Gates and Sign
2 – Bishop
3 – Memorial
altar consecrated as a token of gratitude to Fr Walenty Gawrychowski and the first founders of the parish of Our Lady of the Rosary in December 1896 - true work
4 – WW2 Death
5 – Old Stones
6 – Fairview Cemetery
7 – Modern Stones
The parish was found December 23 1896. The first pastor came January 11 1897 from Buffalo New York. This was Valentine Gawrychowski. The dedication of the church was October 12 1897.
Fairview Cemetery in Chicopee Massachusetts was made in 1870 as a garden style cemetery to replace the older Protestant cemeteries in Chicopee that were filling up quickly. It first name was New Cemetery but in 1890 the name was changed to Fairview Cemetery. From the mid 1870s to 1890 the name Town Cemetery was used. It is not located in the Fairview neighborhood of Chicopee but rather its name came from its scenic design. The land was bought from the Van Horn family and that family had retained a section of the cemetery for their burial plots.
Lydia Hyde (FINDAGRAVE) was the first true burial in this cemetery. After she died March 13 1870 she was interred in this cemetery. There seem to be about 100 earlier burials but this is deceptive since many people were reburied here from other cemeteries in Chicopee after this new cemetery was made.
The Pine Grove Cemetery of Chicopee and South Hadley Massachusetts started about 1788 as a Baptist Cemetery. John Pendleton would be buried there and then many after him. It was at first a churchyard cemetery without a true churchyard since services were in a home. It was a South Hadley cemetery from 1788 to 1809 but when the county line was set, the line between South Hadley and Chicopee (then northern part of Springfield) was moved by about 300 yards. The cemetery was now in what would become Chicopee.
In 1888 the burials of Pine Grove were moved to the Chicopee Street Burial Ground. (Thus the cemetery lasted 100 years) There was also a movement of bodies in the 1850s from the Pine Grove to the South Hadley Village Cemetery. After 1888 many people in northern Chicopee would be buried in the SH Village Cemetery and not in any Chicopee cemetery. The South Hadley Village Cemetery had been started by the Lamb family of South Hadley Falls. Until 1838 when that cemetery started, the people of the Falls used the Pine Grove Cemetery as a burial ground. Daniel Lamb might have been buried there.
In the South Hadley Falls Cemetery, any burial before 1839 is most likely from the Pine Grove. It does also have some burials from Cooley Chapin Cemetery and the Old South Hadley Cemetery (the Bowdoin and Bardwell are from there).
The East Street Cemetery of Chicopee Massachusetts started out being called the Chicopee Falls Cemetery but by 1925 was being called the East Street Cemetery. The best guess is that it was started in the late 1820s.
The Chicopee Street Burying Ground is the oldest cemetery within the borders of the city of Chicopee. Any burials before this cemetery was made had to use the cemeteries that are within the borders of Springfield.
Chester Chapin’s father was buried in the mausoleum – see FINDAGRAVE