Holy Name of Jesus Church and the 3 neighborhood churches is a walking tour of the Springfield Street area in Chicopee Massachusetts.
stop 1 – Convent
The convent was built in 1867 for the Notre Dame nuns who staffed the girls school. It had a small front on South Street but a longer section along Clinton Street.
stop 2 – Holy Name Girls’ School
This was the first Catholic school in Western or Central Massachusetts. It was built in 1868 between the church and the convent. Notre Dame School was only for girls. In 1894 Holy Name School finally gained a high school but it was only for girls also.
stop 3 – Patrick Healy Gravestone
Patrick Healy was the third pastor of this parish. He is buried in the churchyard. His FINDAGRAVE page has much information for you. Usually only the first and perhaps the second pastor of a church are buried alongside the founding church. He is neither but what he did was found the first Catholic school in Central or Western Massachusetts. Thus he is buried alongside that school.
stop 4 – Holy Name of Jesus Church
This church was built in 1859. The church was originally a wooden clad church that was built in 1843 at a nearby location.
stop 5 – Henry Lorenzo Robinson Gravestone
More about Father Robinson is at this FINDAGRAVE page.
|John D Brady||1840||1847||burial|
|John J McCoy||1894||1905||burial|
|John F Conlin||1905||1953||burial|
stop 6 – Rectory
stop 7 – Chapel
This chapel was built in 1872. A second chapel was built attached to the back of the convent.
stop 8 – Boys’ School
The Holy Name Boys’ School was made in 1881 in the back of the church and convent.
stop 9 – Monastery
The Holy Name Monastary was made in 1881 in the back of the boys’ school.
stop 10 – Science School
The Holy Name Science School was made in 1925.
stop 11 – Cemeteries of Holy Name of Jesus
Notice at first the two priests that are buried on the campus. They are mentioned above. From 1836 to 1845 the churchgoers of this church used the Calvary Cemetery of Springfield (now in Chicopee). John Brady the priest bought land in Springfield about a football field length south of the Calvary Cemetery. It was called St Matthews Cemetery. The parish used this cemetery from 1845 to the 1910s when it was mostly filled up. From the 1920s until now, the Calvary Cemetery of Chicopee was heavily used once again.
For the remainder of the tour go to this LINK.
Sanborn map analysis