Race Street

Streets of Holyoke

start to Dwight

Lyman Mill

at 4 Race in 1883 was Carrington Steam Heating

at 7 Race

at 23 Race Street was the Russell Co dealers in hardware

Dwight to Appleton

Holyoke Canal Walk

Judd Paper tour

Appleton to Cabot (includes Spring crossing)

306 to 312 Race is from 1905 to 2011 the Charles Koegel and Son Machine Shop. They were the makers of paper making tools and equipment, and underground drills and explosives. Later they made paper cutters and circular knives. In general the family were machinists. In 1885 Charles Koegel is working at the Holyoke Paper Company (at the juncture of the second and third level canals). In 1892 he opens a small mill on Bigelow Street. In November 1904 they buy the land and erected their larger business on Race Street. The land had a wooden clad house on it and that was taken down. On 8 August 1911 the father would die at 63 years old and the sons would take over the firm. FINDAGRAVE

Since 2011 it has been the Holyoke Professional Arts Center at Mahoney Place.

Sanborn map analysis of this city block:

Sanborn 1895 map – wooden house

Sanborn 1915 map

Sanborn 1949 map

Sanborn 1956 map A and B

Cabot to Sargeant

Holyoke Water Power flume

Sargeant to Jackson – alleyway only

Jackson to South

Spillway 3 of the Holyoke Canal

Merrick raceway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *