Elmwood Park of Holyoke is called the park that disappeared. Still if one looks they will see its remnants everywhere.
Park at the Fitzpatrick’s Ice Rink
stop 1 – Fitzpatrick’s Ice Rink
stop 2 – Ross Street and the Dingle
This is the lower area of the Elmwood Park. It was replaced by the Interstate 391 terminus. The Ward 6 pool, the original Sheard Park, and the Dingle were down there. Ross Street’s remnant is visible but only its lowered section. The upper section went into the park.
stop 3 – Sheard Park
Sheard Park is named after William Sheard of Holyoke who died in 1944 in Germany during WW2. This Sheard Park was made in 1961 as a playground dedicated to him. There is a rock with a plaque at the eastern corner of the park. The park before that was called Poor Park. His FINDAGRAVE page.
This was the last remnant of Elmwood Park. The steps lead into the park. It was renamed Sheard Park when that park was removed by the interstate.
stop 4 – Churchill neighborhood
The Churchill neighborhood has many buildings in it. Mostly there are churches galore. See my tour of the Sacred Heart Church.
stop 5 – Roberts Sport Field
Includes the Roland Pouliot Pool and the Morneau Tennis Courts. This area was once called Alumni Field.
stop 6 – John Young Field
Dedicated on May 18th 1986 to John Young a softball advocate.
The land was originally called Ranlet Parcel. It was purchased in 1908. This field was in 1917 given by the parks division of the city over to the playgrounds division. It was called the Beech Street Grounds.
stop 7 – Oakdale Neighborhood
Oakdale starts on the other side of Beech Street. It was formed as a streetcar suburb in the late 1890s.
stop 8 – MacKenzie Field
Once called the Range and the Beech Street Grounds, now it is called MacKenzie Field. It was dedicated with that name on September 4 1939. It was made in 1932 as a sports complex. The WPA Works Progress Administration came to Holyoke to perform many projects and this was one of them.
stop 9 – Holyoke High School
This is the third location of Holyoke High School. The first location was on Elm Street were the Holyoke Juvenile Court is located. It lasted from 1862 to 1898. The second location was between Beech Street and Pine and between Sargeant and Hampshire. This lasted from 1898 to 1964.
stop 10 – Holyoke Hospital
There have been many hospitals in Holyoke over the years. City Hospital was built in 1890 by the leading industrialists of the city. The hospital had land both in front of and in back of the hospital buildings. There it made winding dirt paths. It also held land across Beech Street. This was acquired by the city in 1907 as an addition to Elmwood Park.
stop 11 – Yankee Pedlar
The Yankee Pedlar has gone through many changes in its history. Read the excellent BOOKLET by People’s Bank. The home was built in 1882 by John Hildreth.
stop 12 – Crosier Field
Crosier Field was once called Solders’ Field. It was also called Elmwood Field. It was renamed on Armistice Day 1939. It is now both a neighborhood park and a schoolyard. The trees along the western edge of the park were planted to honor the Spanish American War deaths. Two stones at the northwest corner of the park explain that. Elmwood Park covered the east portion of the park and went all the way to Carlton Street. There it bordered Carlton Street School.
stop 13 – Carlton Street School
In 1908 the entrance from the Elmwood area was purchased so people could get into the park from near the school. This area used to be part of that very large Dingle that defined Elmwood Park. In 1910 a baseball field was finally made in this Elmwood Field.
In 1917 a great deal was done to fill in the Carlton Street end of the Dingle. This part of the juncture of Peck, Crosier, and Carlton was called the Elmwood Playground.
stop 14 – Peck School
The school was built at the elbow of the Dingle area.
stop 15 – Elmwood neighborhood
Along Beech Street it seems that Elmwood is a new neighborhood but actually it is very old. Chapin Street has at its northern end as small street that bears to the right. This tiny street once lead into Elmwood Park and was considered to be its main entrance. After going down hill it meet the Day Brook. At that stream a bridge was built. One could cross the bridge and walk on a dirt road to Pine and Beech Streets.
stop 16 – Parkview Street
This is the northernmost of the five parallel streets that are to the north of South Street. It has a fine view of the Mount Holyoke Range to the north and a fine view of the Mount Tom Range to the west.