Luther Taber was a jeweler that moved to Holyoke in the early 1840s. His building was at 181-183 High Street. His son started another jeweler business at 281-283-285 High Street.
His ads are always colorful. This next is his 1900 ad.
For a while in the early 1900s there was a George England there.
By 1900 and lasting to at least 1915 the Smith Brothers jewelers had taken over and it was being called the Smith’s Block.
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1895 map has store on 1st and office on 2nd