The LaFrance Block at 405-411 High Street was made in 1908 in the Romanesque style. It once was a five story structure but had to be changed to three stories. By 1930 it is being called the Potolski Block. Then it was demolished.
This building once held the Grand Theater from 1909 to 1919.
Lafrance Building (Hotel Essex) at 400 High was across the street from the LaFrance Block. It was built in 1907 in the American Renaissance style. It served as the residence for many of the actors and actresses in the theaters around Holyoke. Clearly, it mostly served the Grand Theater and the Empire Theater that were across the way. POSTCARD
Look at the wonderful ad that they had in 1915
By 1930 it is being called the Hotel Grand.
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1884 map shows an empty city block
Sanborn 1889 map shows the Coughlan Block at 407 High
Sanborn 1895 map shows the Grand as the Flanagan Block and the Hotel Essex as 4 wooden structures in row – restaurant – tailor – photographer – cobbler (L to R)
Sanborn 1915 map shows the 8 floor Hotel Essex across from the Grand