The Wedge and Ward Block is named after two men Wedge and Ward.
These two men were bakers within the building and also owned the block.
One store owner in 1885 was John Howe the baker.
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1915 map shows that the Transcript newspaper was now in the building and in fact had grown to be three buildings wide