The Lost Grave of South Hadley
The Bowdoin stone started at the Old South Hadley Cemetery. It was moved in 1904 during the move of that old cemetery. All the stones that were moved 1904 were moved to Evergreen Cemetery except this Bowdoin stone. In Evergreen, they were moved to the back of that cemetery or to the family section of that cemetery. It was always rumored that a few stones were moved elsewhere. Families could have the burials from the Old South Hadley Cemetery moved to anywhere in the country.
This Bowdoin stone is on the Professor Soule list of stones that were at the Old South Hadley Cemetery. (Soule’s list is available at the South Hadley History Room at the South Hadley Library.) Henry Bowdoin one of the sons of the family died in 1904. That was the year of the move and might have precipitated the transfer to this cemetery. If one looks at the Soule list and subtracts off all names in the Jessie Lie book from 1976 (Lie’s book is about the stones in the back of Evergreen from the 1904 move), then one is left with about 20 family monuments. Looking through the main body of Evergreen, one finds all of these family stones but one. The one that is the lost one is this Bowdoin stone.
William Bowdoin – FINDAGRAVE