The Calvary Cemetery of the Sisters of Providence is the southernmost of the two cemetery along Lower Westfield Road. The other cemetery is the Mont Marie Cemetery. Both cemeteries are part of the Brightside Neighborhood.
This cemetery started in 1893 in the Ingleside neighborhood of Holyoke. The motherhouse is a short distance to the south on Gamelin Street. These sisters first started in Holyoke at the Saint Jerome Institute.
stop 1 – gates
stop 2 – statue
stop 3 – Mother Mary of Providence Horan
Mother Mary of Providence Horan was the first Mother General of the Sisters of Providence in Holyoke. She died the 25th of January 1943. She was born Catherine Horan on July 19 1850 in Ontario.
stop 4 – gravestones
The oldest burial in this cemetery is that of Sr Mary Anthony Keefe. She died the 14th of May 1895.
She is buried toward the back of the cemetery were the stones are angled differently from the front ones.
stop 5 – Chapel
A chapel is at back too. It has a statue of St Vincent. St Vincent is the patron saint of the Sisters of Providence.
stop 6 – Providence Hospital Infants’ Cemetery
Providence Hospital started an infant’s cemetery along the southern tip of the Calvary Cemetery for nuns. There are baby gravestones in that area either with names and dates or as just a cement block.
stop 7 – motherhouse and neighborhood
The motherhouse is now on private property. That motherhouse was started in 1930 for the Sisters of Providence. They had been using the Ingleside and Brightside area since the 1880s as an orphanage. The entire area was designed at first to help orphans via the Mont St Vincent Asylum and the Brightside Orphanage. Later Providence Hospital was added to the area.