The Smith Building located at 270-276 High Street. It was built in 1906 in the American Renaissance style. J R Smith was the first owner and ran his old time produce and grocery store from here. Later G J Prew would buy it.
The Springfield Commercial School was here in 1915.
The previous building was called the Hubbard and Tabor. In 1896 J R Smith was one of the tenants.
Sanborn map analysis
Sanborn 1889 map shows two 4 story buildings here
Sanborn 1895 map shows the same
Sanborn 1915 map states that it was built in 1905