Immaculate Conception Church Campus (Easthampton) is found on Adams Street. The first church was a wooden church that was erected in 1868 at the same site as the present church. A new church was completed in 1883 but it burned before it could be used. In 1884 this present church was made (dedicated August 15 1884). This church is in the neo-Gothic style.
The Immaculate Conception Church was a mission church of the Northampton church since 1868 under P V Moyce (pastor in Northampton).
The first pastor was J J Twomey. FINDAGRAVE
Second pastor was Richard Donovan.
Third pastor was Richard Walshe FINDAGRAVE – The cemetery was established in about 1884 on Everett Street by Walshe. He was the pastor from 1878 to 1914 – 36 years.
Patrick Doyle – FINDAGRAVE
At 21 Adams Street is the convent for the nuns. It was a home at first (1870s build) but Immaculate Conception purchased it. They owned it from 1915 to the late 1980s. The order of nuns that worked in the school here was the Sisters of Saint Joseph.
At 33 Adams Street is the rectory of the priests. It was built at some point in the late 1800s.
The parish is now called Our Lady of the Valley since it is a joining of many churches in town. This happened in 2010 with the joining of Notre Dame du Bon Conseil (Pleasant Street) and Sacred Heart of Jesus (Franklin Street) with the Immaculate Conception Church.
stop 1 – Immaculate Conception Rectory
stop 2 – Immaculate Conception Church
stop 3 – Immaculate Conception Convent
stop 4 – Immaculate Conception School
The Immaculate Conception School was started in 1909.
Sanborn maps analysis: