History of Fire Fighting in Holyoke

General topics of the fire stations of Holyoke HERE. The table on this page gives the stations around Holyoke through time.

1Central Fire Station (edition 1)206 Maple Street19142001link
Central Fire Station (edition 2)High Street2001still
Reliance Fire Station (edition 1)High Street18641886
Reliance Fire Station (edition 2)310 High Street18861914
4Mount Tom Fire StationCanal Street18871976link
2Mount Holyoke Fire Station450-452 Main Streetlink
Relief Fire Station 1 1870link
Relief Fire Station 21891link
5Elmwood Fire Station490 South Street1891link
7Emerald Fire StationChestnut Street1914link
3Highlands Fire Station1034 Hampden Street18841969link
Extinguisher Company and StationNorthampton Street in Manchester Grounds near the Crafts Hotel1875link
Dexter Fire StationNorthampton Street in Elmwood1875
Homestead Fire StationHomestead Avenue1962 (Sep 6)stilllink
Whiting Fire StationWhiting Farm Road2003still

The fire committee starts in Holyoke in 20 January 1874.

Dexter existed from at least 1875 until 1892. It house the Dexter Hose Company number 4. This was a two wheeled horse carriage. The station was in a house. See the Holyoke T-T of Dec 2 1940 for a story.

Extinguisher Company number 2 ended about 1880. Also there was a Mechanic Engine Company number 2. Likewise, there was the Union Hook and Ladder Company starting in 1852. (It was located across the street from the Holyoke Telegram)

There is a never explained fire engine house in the Springdale neighborhood on a few maps.

Sanborn 1895 map – on Temple Street and the prior Sanborn maps do not reach there

Holyoke City Directory map

Sanborn 1915 map – listed as vacant

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *