Emerson House in Chicopee is at 30 Emerson Street off of Chicopee Street. James Emerson had the house built in 1895 for his family. He perhaps loved the views of the river and the canal spillway.
James Emerson was the first engineer who tested turbines in Holyoke. His work was done at the Boatlock Station in Holyoke at the juncture of the First and Second Level Canals. James dies in 1896 but his son Estelon and his wife Sophia still live there until about 1912.
From 1920 to 1930, Frederick A Mead a medical doctor takes over the house with wife Lucetia and kids Jay, Ruth (would become a nurse), and Ralph.
In 1934 and 1935, Frank’s Spaghetti House is in the workspace and Frank Falbo (barber) and Margaret (his wife) own the house. FINDAGRAVE
Kane’s Dairy has one of its many storefronts in the Greater Holyoke area at the workspace and they own the house too. Kane’s Dairy started in Holyoke in 1922 and they lasted until 1967. Kane’s Dairy bought this location in 1962.
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1910 map shows that the workhouse in back is rented out to a blacksmith (note that all prior maps do not show this section of Chicopee)
Sanborn 1915 map shows the workhouse in back is used as a fish store