Ball Block and Building was started by Charles Ball. The block is located at 223 – 227 High Street in 1898 and the building at 211-215 High Street in 1870. The block is done in the Italian Palazzo style.
From at least 1882 to 1885 the smaller one is called the Mecham Block.
See the James Meacham watch maker ad.
Horrigan Brothers are also there.
In 1935 there was a fire there. LINK
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1884 map
Sanborn 1915 map shows the connection to the adjacent blocks – name is Holyoke National Bank
Sanborn 1949 map shows these two blocks as separate but the Ball Block connected to the lower building to its north.