The Syms and Dudley or Mount Tom Paper Mill was built in 1880 along the Second Level Canal near the river. George Dudley and William Syms started the mill together. In 1893 they sold it and moved to Watervliet Michigan. The Nonotuck Paper Mill took it over and renamed it the Mount Tom Mill. The Syms and Dudley manufactured book and envelope paper. Also engine sized flat and ruled writings. In 1890 William Whiting is the president, George Dudley the treasurer, and William Syms the manager.
Sanborn map analysis