Holyoke Library Commons Sidewalk Tour

  • This is part of the Holyoke Heritage Trail so after visiting here get back onto the trail.
  • Private GROUP TOUR (COSTS) is one hour long for this Saint Jerome Church (Campus and Neighborhood) walking tour. It is fully outdoors.
  • A free public tour comes up every five years.
  • A self-tour is available for anyone using the maps and text seen below at the link.

In general see the tour as made by the Holyoke Library.

https://holyoke.oncell.com/en/index.html

This is an outside tour but the inside of the library is also very interesting since there are murals and special rooms. Once there was a Holyoke Museum in here.

Stop 1 – Massasoit and Alleyway

Stop 2 – Maplewood Hotel and Unity Church

The Women’s Christian Temperance Union was in the Liberal Christian Congregational Church (Unitarian) at the corner of Maple and Essex.

Between the Congregational Church and the Telephone Building in the 1950s there were two apartment buildings – the Lawnview and Wentworth Hall.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is maplewood-hotel-768x1024.jpg

The Maplewood in the 1950s was called the Holyoke Community Center Building. It was home to the Holyoke Family Service Society and the Holyoke Home Information Center.

stop 3 – Row Houses and Library

In 1870 the library started at the Appleton Street School. In 1876 the library moved to City Hall. It has been here since 1901.

stop 4 – Sons of Zion Synagogue

At first this building served the Quebecers of Holyoke – it was called Salle Canadienne – and was built in the 1870s. The St Jean Baptiste Society met there.

stop 5 – Lawrence School and Library Park

Stop 6 – Notre Dame of Perpetual Help Church

Stop 7 – Masonic Temple and the Presbyterian Church

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is masonic-guild-1-1024x707.jpg

Stop 8 – The Essex and Barlow

Between the Masonic Hall and the Essex, there was a tenement building – The Jefferson.

You are back to the modern library.

Sanborn map analysis:

Sanborn 1949 mapmap B

Sanborn 1956 mapmap B