The Saint Thomas the Apostle Church Campus in West Springfield was founded in 1869. It is located on Pine Street. The parish of Saint Thomas the Apostle started as a mission church of the Holy Name Church of Chicopee. The Holy Name Parish was the first Catholic parish in Western Massachusetts.
The old church was destroyed in 1905. The present was built in 1906 at 63 Pine Street. It is clearly in the neo-Gothic style. The first pastor of the church from its inception in 1877 was William Phelan. Another former pastor is James Tyrrell. FINDAGRAVE – pastor from Dec 7 1905 to Oct 22 1925. A list of pastors can be found at the external LINK.
|Patrick Healy||FINDAGRAVE||pastor of the mission church|
|Patrick Phelan||FINDAGRAVE||first pastor|
|John J O’Keefe||FINDAGRAVE|
|John F Griffin||FINDAGRAVE|
The Saint Thomas the Apostle Rectory is at 47 Pine Street.
The Saint Thomas the Apostle Rectory Carriage House is nearby.
The Saint Thomas the Apostle School is at 75 Pine Street. It is from about 1961.
The Saint Thomas the Apostle Hall is at 87 Pine Street and is from about 1962. This is the former convent for the nuns that taught at the school. The first convent was from 1931.
The Saint Thomas the Apostle Cemetery is from about 1870 also. It is located nearby at Kings Highway.
Congregation Kodimoh Cemetery – Beth El Chapel is from 1927.
Congregation Kodimoh Cemetery is from 1900.