George Prentiss built the first Prentiss Wire Mill in 1857 on the First Level Canal. Mill number 1 closed in 1961 (and was razed in 1963) but the second mill is still there. He lived at 196 Northampton Street and his son lived at 207 Elm Street.
Its main product was steel and iron wire.
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1889 map shows both mills