John Tilley owned the structure in the 1880s and sold furniture in it on all floors. It was a brick facade building in that era.
Then Thomas Childs remade the structure into the Childs Building having a facade added in 1912. This building at 273-281 High Street is in the Beaux Arts style.
As a budding businessman Childs bought the Corser Shoe store and grew from there.
View of the INSIDE during a sale.
He also operated a business college on the upper floors.
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1884 map it is a one floor wooden building for a barber
Sanborn 1895 map it is now 4 floors