stop 1 – Points North
The northern section of Smith’s Ferry was called South Farms North originally. It had its own school and meeting house at one time. This was located were the Union hall is now. Holyoke Golf Course is located in this part of Smith’s Ferry. In the 1820s, the Hampden and Hampshire Canal came through where the bike path is now. Northampton at that time gave the land along the boundary to Easthampton so there was only one town to deal with at the end of the canal. In the 1840s a railroad track was placed over this same location. The location was called Mount Tom Station. This addition to the cemetery was given to it in 1947 to expand its driveway. Instead it expanded its burial ground.
stop 2 – Mausoleum
William Bowlen is buried in this mausoleum. He was a silversmith that owned a business in Greenfield. Notice how the mausoleum has four holes in it for ventilation. This is so that gas will not built up.
stop 3 – Native American
A body was found buried along the river in the 1940. It was thought to be a Native American burial. The person was disinterred and reinterred in this cemetery. The burial is somewhere beyond the Bowlen gravesite.
stop 4 – Points West
The west back half of the cemetery was given to the cemetery by the commissioners of the Mount Tom Reservation. It expanded the size of the cemetery by more than twice over. The entrance road that you see at your feet was made longer and was a given a back up area. This is so that cars did not have to back out of the cemetery onto a highway.
stop 5 – Underwood family
Richard Franklin Underwood was born in Belchertown in 1842. He fought in the Civil War from 1861 to 1865. Soon after his return, he bought land at Mount Tom Station and started a farm and a family. One of his sons was named William Underwood and this William had three children that fought in World War 2. The gravestone that you see in front of you is made totally of zinc.
stop 6 – Hervey Smith
Hervey Smith was one of the many sons of Lewis Smith. Hervey started the ferry service based on this side of the river that crossed the Connecticut River. This service started in 1835 and lasted until the 1910s. His son George Irving Smith took over for Hervey in 1871. George is buried facing into his father’s gravestone. Hervey was a farmer, a tavern owner, ran the train depot, and the ferry operator.
stop 7 – Points South
The southern part of Smith’s Ferry was called South Farms South. Whiting Street lived in this area. The reservoir was named after him in 1889. This area had its own school and meeting house like South Farms North had. In the 1870s both schools were combined to form Smith’s Ferry School. The Connecticut River Railroad came through Smith’s Ferry starting in 1845. It had its own train station which was near the ferry. Also the Holyoke Street Railway came through Smith’s Ferry after making a large U pattern into Mountain Park. The tracks nearly paralleled those of the train.
stop 8 – Lewis Smith and family
Lewis Smith and Eunice Judd settled in the Smith’s Ferry section of Northampton in the 1780s. 7 of their 11 children are buried in this cemetery. Their children are Polly, David, Chester, Lewis, Asenath, Hervey, Hiram, Eunice, Sophia, Milo, and Charles. Their children in the bold italics are buried here. Asenath is buried in South Hadley and Charles in Springfield. Sophia is buried in Genesee County of New York.
Polly (1786 to 1850 in Ohio as a Daniels)
David (1789 to 1860 in New York)
Chester (1791 to 1861 in Holyoke)
Lewis (1793 to 1830 in Northampton)
Asenath (1795 to 1878 in South Hadley as an Alvord)
Hervey (1797 to 1871 in Northampton)
Hiram (1800 to unknown)
Eunice (1803 to 1899 in Pennsylvania as a Bagg)
Sophia (1805 to 1851 in New York State)
Milo (1808 to 1834)
Charles Horton (1810 to 1892)
stop 9 – Eli Day
Eli Day fought in the American Revolutionary War. His parents are Joel Day and Eunice Day who are buried in Elmwood Cemetery. Eli had 4 brothers that participated in the war in some fashion. His father Joel also went to the war. His young brothers Edward and Robert died of sicknesses during the war.
stop 10 – Points East
East of this cemetery is the Connecticut River and then South Hadley on the eastern bank. The road in front of you was originally a carriage road. It then became a road for cars. In the 1950s is turned in a 4 lane highway. By the late 1980s, it reverted to 2 lanes.
stop 11 – Milo Smith
Milo Smith and his family is buried in this line of the cemetery. The marble gravestone has eroded to the point of collapse. The Friends of Holyoke’s Historic Monuments and Cemeteries is attempting to fix the stones in this cemetery.
stop 12 – Elias Lyman gravestone
Elias Lyman and his family are buried here. His daughter Rachel died in 1808 and is buried in this line. Her tombstone is the oldest left within the cemetery. Supposedly, the cemetery started in 1807 when Lewis Smith donated some of his land. The Lyman family was the first family in this part of Northampton. It was called at first Lyman’s Farm, then South Farms, then South Harbor, and then Smith’s Ferry.