stop 1 – Lawson Long
Lawson Long is the first medical doctor of Holyoke. In the summer and fall of 1849, the Patch section of the Hadley Falls area of Ireland Parish was hit by cholera. Drought hit during the summer of 1849 and instead of drinking rainwater from buckets, people were drinking from the Connecticut River. Coffer dams had stopped the water. Cholera was not understood at that point. The water had developed the cholera and the people were drinking it. 1200 Irish immigrants were living in the Patch. 300 of them would die here in that year. They were buried in the only Catholic cemetery in Western Massachusetts – Calvary Cemetery. Now in Chicopee but at that point in Springfield. An enormous potter’s field was started there.
stop 2 – Thomas Rand
Thomas Rand was one of the many ministers of the First Baptist Church in Holyoke. He also started a school on Back Street for the religious community. Today Back Street is Homestead Avenue. The school was moved to where the Blessed Sacrament Church is now.
stop 3 – Bushman Fuller
Bushman Fuller was an Afro-American that bought his own freedom from his master. He also bought the freedom of a woman named Flora Perry and then married her. He is buried in the southeast corner of the cemetery. The stone for his daughter-in-law is still here but his other family members have lost their stones to erosion. He might have been buried at first in the former Holyoke Congregational Cemetery that was moved in 1884.
stop 4 – Eunice Day
Eunice Day was the mother of 11 children with Joel Day. Joel and Eunice are first cousins with the same last name Day. Joel and 5 of the sons fought in the Revolutionary War. Robert died and is buried in Ticonderoga New York. He was not a soldier but rather was bringing supplies and food to the fort with a group. He was ambushed and killed. Edward died that same year of 1777 while in Troy New York. He was hurt in a skirmish and died a few days later of an illness. The Daughters of the American Revolution chapter in Holyoke called themselves the Eunice Day Chapter. If existed from 1922 to the 1980s. It merged with the South Hadley chapter in the 1990s and was called the Dolly Woodbridge – Eunice Day Chapter.
stop 5 – Nathaniel Parks
Nathaniel Parks was accidently shot in the head by Luther Frink while out hunting. Parks was wearing a raccoon hat while in a small hole. Frink mistook his hat for a live animal. Frink is also buried within this cemetery.