Stop 1 – Lower Riverside Park
Stop 2 – South Hadley Falls
The northwest corner of this intersection was the location of the trolley barn for the horse driven trolleys. This was the first trolley barn for the Holyoke Street Railway. The second is near the corner of Lyman and Canal Streets. The third is still there at North Bridge Street.
Stop 3 – Bridge and View of Dam
The Holyoke Dam was made in 1849 of wood. It is still in location but is now submerged. The masonry dam was put in place in 1900/ It was quarried in Vinalhaven Maine. The dam is a deflection dam for the Holyoke Canal System.
Stop 4 – Holyoke and Shad Park
There is a fishing location below the southern end of the bridge. It is as of a few years ago handicap accessible.
Stop 5 – Channel
The turbine channel was dug out of bedrock in 1952 parallel to the Connecticut River. It had to be made deep in order to allow the water from the turbines to flow.
Stop 6 – Fish Lift
Stop 7 – Holyoke Canal System
Stop 8 – Paper Mills
Stop 9 – County Bridge
The previous bridge was the County Bridge. It existed in two forms from 1873 to 1990. First was a wooden bridge from 1873 to 1888 and then a metal bridge. This was replaced in 1990 by the modern bridge.
Stop 10 – Bridge and View of Connecticut River
As the water flows south, it enters Chicopee and then continues its journey to the Atlantic Ocean at Long Island Sound. The next bridge that you met is the Willimantic Bridge in Chicopee. Below you on the South Hadley side is a brook called the Buttery Brook.
Stop 11 – South Hadley Falls part B
Saint Patrick’s Church in South Hadley is now in its third rendition. The last two are at this location but the first in at the corner of Crescent and North Main Street. It was a mission church of Saint Jerome Church of Holyoke.
Stop 12 – Texon Park
Stop 13 – Gatehouse Park