Burial Grounds of Chicopee throughout its History

Burial Grounds of Chicopee throughout its History is a presentation format of the cemeteries of Chicopee.

Calvary Cemetery Catholic1836
Sainte Rose de Lima Cemetery Catholic Quebeclawn1900
Saint Stanislaus Cemetery Catholic Polishlawn
Saint Patrick’s Cemetery Catholic Irishlawn
Sons of Zion CemeteryJewishlawn1897
Rodphey Sholom CemeteryJewish lawn1927
Chicopee Street Burying Ground ProtestantCongregationalchurchyard1739
East Street Cemetery Protestant 1825
Maple Grove Cemetery Protestant churchyard1832
Fairview Cemetery Protestant 1870
Holy Mother of the Rosary Cemetery National CatholicPolish1904
Holy Name of Jesus ChurchyardCatholic churchyard1889

Holy Name of Jesus Church and the 3 Neighborhood Churches

Holy Name of Jesus Church and the 3 neighborhood churches is a walking tour of the Springfield Street area in Chicopee Massachusetts.

stop 1 – Convent

stop 2 – Girls’ School

stop 3 – Patrick Healy Gravestone

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is SDC16257-768x1024.jpg

Patrick Healy was the founder of this parish. He is buried in the churchyard. His FINDAGRAVE page has much information for you.

stop 4 – Holy Name of Jesus Church

stop 5 – Henry Lorenzo Robinson Gravestone

More about Father Robinson is at this FINDAGRAVE page.

stop 6 – Rectory

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is SDC16244-1024x776.jpg

stop 7 – Chapel

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is SDC16248-800x1024.jpg

stop 8 – Boys’ School

The Holy Name Boys’ School was made in 1881 in the back of the church and convent.

stop 9 – Monastery

The Holy Name Monastary was made in 1881 in the back of the boys’ school.

stop 10 – Science School

The Holy Name Science School was made in 1925.

For the remainder of the tour go to this LINK.

Nuns of Holyoke

The nuns of Holyoke are varied since there are so many ethnic groups within the city. Below is a rundown of the orders and when and where they served.

orderlocationstartendburial locations
Notre DameNotre Dame School18691910
Sisters of Saint Joseph
Franciscan Sisters of Saint JosephMater Dolorosa19061994HISTORY
Sisters of Sainte Anne
Sisters of the Presentation of Mary

Quebec ethnicity military men from Holyoke that died during the course of World War 1

Quebec ethnicity military men from Holyoke that died during the course of World War 1 are honored on plaques in Notre Dame Cemetery in South Hadley.

namebirth datebirthplacedeath datedeathplace
Arthur Joseph Perreault5 Oct 1890Holyoke7 March 1918Issoudun
Emile Jacob Henrye28 Sept 1893Fitchburg8 July 1918Brest
Georges Trembly11 August 1896Holyoke16 June 1918Royaumeix
Leon Bourgeois10 Feb 1898Springfield5 July 1918Belleauwood France
Ernest Arthur Parent31 Dec 1898Holyoke15 March 1918France
Narcisse A De Roy
Emile Bruder7 Jan 1887Hericourt France8 June 1918France
Wilfred W Paradis
Joseph Couture
William O Guillette
Albert J OuimetOct 1895Holyoke22 July 1918Epieds
Albert Rousseau
Avila Nolin6 Dec 1894Holyoke1 Nov 1918Alliepont
Albert Gendron

Elmwood Park

Elmwood Park of Holyoke is called the park that disappeared. Still if one looks they will see its remnants everywhere.

Park at the Fitzpatrick’s Ice Rink

stop 1 – Fitzpatrick’s Ice Rink

stop 2 – Ross Street and the Dingle

This is the lower area of the Elmwood Park. It was replaced by the Interstate 391 terminus. The Ward 6 pool, the original Sheard Park, and the Dingle were down there. Ross Street’s remnant is visible but only its lowered section. The upper section went into the park.

stop 3 – Sheard Park

Sheard Park is named after William Sheard of Holyoke who died in 1944 in Germany during WW2. This Sheard Park was made in 1961 as a playground dedicated to him. There is a rock with a plaque at the eastern corner of the park. The park before that was called Poor Park. His FINDAGRAVE page.

This was the last remnant of Elmwood Park. The steps lead into the park. It was renamed Sheard Park when that park was removed by the interstate.

stop 4 – Churchill neighborhood

The Churchill neighborhood has many buildings in it. Mostly there are churches galore. See my tour of the Sacred Heart Church.

stop 5 – Roberts Sport Field

Includes the Roland Pouliot Pool and the Morneau Tennis Courts. This area was once called Alumni Field.

stop 6 – John Young Field

Dedicated on May 18th 1986 to John Young a softball advocate.

stop 7 – Oakdale Neighborhood

Oakdale starts on the other side of Beech Street. It was formed as a streetcar suburb in the late 1890s.

stop 8 – MacKenzie Field

Once called the Range and the Beech Street Grounds, now it is called MacKenzie Field. It was dedicated with that name on September 4 1939. It was made in 1932 as a sports complex. The WPA Works Progress Administration came to Holyoke to perform many projects and this was one of them.

stop 9 – Holyoke High School

This is the third location of Holyoke High School. The first location was on Elm Street were the Holyoke Juvenile Court is located. It lasted from 1862 to 1898. The second location was between Beech Street and Pine and between Sargeant and Hampshire. This lasted from 1898 to 1964.

stop 10 – Holyoke Hospital

There have been many hospitals in Holyoke over the years. City Hospital was built in 1890 by the leading industrialists of the city.

stop 11 – Yankee Pedlar

stop 12 – Crosier Field

Crosier Field was once called Solders’ Field. It was also called Elmwood Field. It was renamed on Armistice Day 1939. It is now both a neighborhood park and a schoolyard. The trees along the western edge of the park were planted to honor the Spanish American War deaths. Two stones at the northwest corner of the park explain that. Elmwood Park covered the east portion of the park and went all the way to Carlton Street. There it bordered Carlton Street School.

stop 13 – Carlton Street School

stop 14 – Peck School

stop 15 – Elmwood neighborhood

Along Beech Street it seems that Elmwood is a new neighborhood but actually it is very old. Chapin Street has at its northern end as small street that bears to the right. This tiny street once lead into Elmwood Park and was considered to be its main entrance. After going down hill it meet the Day Brook. At that stream a bridge was built. One could cross the bridge and walk on a dirt road to Pine and Beech Streets.

stop 16 – Parkview Street

This is the northernmost of the five parallel streets that are to the north of South Street. It has a fine view of the Mount Holyoke Range to the north and a fine view of the Mount Tom Range to the west.

Saint Patrick’s Church of South Hadley

The Saint Patrick’s Church of South Hadley is the first Catholic church in South Hadley.

stop 1 – Rectory

1Patrick Harkins1867-1878Saint Jerome Cemetery (Holyoke)
2David McGrathJuly 18 1878 to 1882Saint Mary’s Cemetery (Milford, Massachusetts)
3Lawrence Dervin1882 to 1885Saint John’s Cemetery of Lancaster189522 of Nov
4Eugene Toher1885 to 1901Saint Leo Cemetery (Leominster)19307th of Feb
5John Conway1901 to 1913Saint Rose Cemetery (South Hadley)19131st of March
6Dennis Sullivan1913 to 1913
7Humphrey Wren1913 to 1933
8James Casey1933 to 1944
9Martin Tracey1944 to 1950
10John Engstrom1950 to 1969Saint John’s Cemetery (Worcester)1969Sept 25
11Thomas Price1969 to 198219822nd of June
12Brian Boland1982 to 1994Gate of Heaven Cemetery (Springfield)19943rd of March
13Richard M Turner1994 to 2001
14John Sheaffer2001 to 2002
15William Rousseau2002 to 2003
16Thomas Shea2003 to 2015
17James Nolte2016

stop 2 – Saint Rose Cemetery

Saint Rose Cemetery

stop 1 – Arthur Bernier – The work shed behind you was for the workers in this cemetery.  Arthur Bernier built and designed it in 1935.  He was a home contractor that attended St Patrick’s Church.  His parents are buried 20 feet away on the other side of this entry road.  Arthur is buried with his wife west down this road.  He has a military stone since he fought in the US Army in the Coastal Artillery.  (Findagrave)

stop 2 – Patrick Hartnett – Patrick Hartnett was a Confederate veteran of the American Civil War.  He moved to Holyoke Massachusetts in 1864 and married to Ellen Shugrue at the Saint Jerome Church.  Nothing is known about his time in the war.  Notice the two marks at the base of his stone.  He is buried with his wife and children.  (Findagrave)

stop 3 – John Conlan gravestone – John died a month after his wife did.  He was a poor man with no family left.  The Bricklayers Union number 2 of Holyoke decided to expend some of their money on a nice gravestone for John and Mary Jane.  She might have been the first burial ever in Saint Rose Cemetery since they died that year of opening.  (Findagrave)

stop 4 – Robert Comeau – This is in the modern section of the cemetery.  He had 11 children and they are all listed on the back in order.  One of the children was deaf and hence the sign language symbol for “I Love You” is on the reverse.  St Rose bought the two large sections to the west of the old sections.  (Findagrave)

stop 5 – Potter’s Field and Children’s Graves

To the back middle of the cemetery, find the potter’s field. Most of the back row of this area is very old and most are pauper’s grave. The children’s area to the front left of this area is very nice to visit.

stop 6 – John Conway – Father Conway was the priest that helped Sainte Anne Church in Chicopee become a parish.  From 1891 to 1912 it was a mission church of St Patrick’s Church of South Hadley.  In 1912 the church was built that is still there.  The former chapel remained just in back of the church until 1964 when it was razed and an addition added to the church.  John is the only pastor from either St Patricks or Ste Anne that is buried in St Rose Cemetery.  (Findagrave)

stop 7 – Plains area neighborhood and Precious Blood Cemetery

The Precious Blood Cemetery is to the back of the St Rose Cemetery. It is an older cemetery and of the Quebec ethnicity. Click on their link to visit there with interpretation.

The Plains neighborhood is one of the newest of South Hadley. Walk a bit around. Old Willimansett Street was once part of Willimansett Street until the early 1970s. The Plains School is across Route 202 from you.

Empire Theater

The Empire Theater lasted from 1893 to 1915.

It did theater and then burlesque but by the end was a nickelodeon. In the photo the Empire is the ornate building in the middle and the Grand is three buildings to the right.

Photo is courtesy of the Holyoke History Room at the Holyoke Public Library.