Joseph Towne Homestead is now at 175 Linden Street at the SW corner of Essex Street. The previous addresses for the house are 215 Linden Street and 181 Linden Street. The architect on the house was James Clough who made it into a Queen Anne Victorian home. Prior owners were:
William Syms (1890-1894) who started the Dudley and Syms Mill in Holyoke which would become the Mount Tom Paper Mill. STORY about him – MILL
William Fairfield Whiting (1894-1916) who moved in 1916 to 182 Elm Street (the home that his mother died in in 1915 FINDAGRAVE – He was Secretary of Commerce under Coolidge and president of Whiting Paper after his father’s death. IMAGE and STORY about him – MILL
Dr Frank and Dr Jean Celce (Frederick Celce in the US Army) (1919-1921) – in 1917 they lived at 264 Maple Street. FINDAGRAVE – Jean Celce was on the board of the Holyoke Municipal Milk Station that Getrude Greeley wife of Samuel Whiting had help to start. This Milk Station was at the southwest corner of South Bridge and Sargeant Streets. (36 Sargeant Street) It was started to help mothers get pure milk for their infants.
Joseph M Towne (1921-late 1950s) – Joseph owned the National Blank Book along with his brothers. His wife Jessie Louise Dodd was responsible for the design outline of the Olmsted Garden. She had two sons (William b 1914 and Robertson b 1918) and they would have loved the children’s garden. FINDAGRAVE – MILL
Philip Sheridan – who would make it to be president and head engineer at Tighe and Bond. FINDAGRAVE