Start with the Holy Name of Jesus Church and then walk out the back of its parking lot.
Stop 1 – Holy Name of Jesus Church campus
Read about the campus at the LINK.
stop 2 – Chapin house
stop 3 – Abbey house
stop 4 – Grace Episcopal Church
This Grace Church was consecrated on July 6 1897.
stop 5 – Assumption Convent
The convent is the former home of Dr Kimball. It was purchased in 1925 for the teaching nuns.
stop 6 – Assumption Rectory
This rectory was the home of the former governor of Massachusetts – George Robinson. It was purchased when the church was built. The first rectory was the home of Father Bonneville.
|Louis T Rodier||1928||1933|
|Pierre H Gauthier||1933||1938||St Patrick’s of Northbridge|
|Jean B Messier||1938||1946|
|Augustin B Auge||1946||1954||St Mary of Putnam Conn|
|Roy E Leroux||1954||1969||Notre Dame of South Hadley|
|Richard Faucher||1969||St Rose de Lima|
stop 7 – Assumption Church
A mission church of the St Aloysius Church of Springfield was started in Chicopee in 1874 using a temporary building. In 1885 a church was built on Academy Street for the new parish. In 1903 a school and convent were built near the church. They were on Center and Cabot Streets.
The present church was built in 1925. This replaced the other one which had burnt in a fire. The church is now associated with the Holy Name of Jesus parish.
stop 8 – Assumption School
This Assumption School was made in 1954. It replaced a 4 room schoolhouse that was built here in 1925. It was the home for Holyoke Catholic High School for a few years.
stop 9 – Third Congregational Church