Maple Street

Maple Street is a very interesting street in Holyoke. It has Veteran Park and the Central Fire Station and more.

Sanborn map188418891895191519491956
park to Kolbe map map map map map map
Fr Kolbe to Lymanmap map map map map map
Lyman to Hampden map map map map map map
Hampden to Dwight map map map map map map
Dwight to Suffolk map map map map map map
Suffolk to Appleton map map map map map map
Appleton to Essex map map map map map map
Essex to Cabot map map map map map map
Cabot to Hampshire map map map map map map

Judd Paper (Gateway City Arts)

The Judd Paper (Gateway City Arts) is at 92 to 96 Race Street. The firm was founded in 1883 in Holyoke by the Judd family. They still exist – see LINK.

Outdoor Stop 1 – Canal Walk

Read about the Canal Walk area. Also read about the Lyman Mills and area. One additional building to point out is the Cubit. It houses the HCC Culinary Arts Institute in tandem with MGM. On the top two floors is the Cubit Lofts. On the lowest level is the Cubit Co-Works Space.

Outdoor Stop 2 – Main Street

In 1915 the Armour Co. was in front and the Burnham Ware House behind the railroad cut. At the corner of Middle and Main was the Burnham Grist Mill with its corner also cut off. At 77 Main Street was the Hotel Lawler.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is SDC16734-915x1024.jpg

In 1949, The Holyoke Valve and Hydrant Company might have faced onto Main Street but it had a train that crossed into it northwest corner.


Outdoor Stop 3 – Depot Square

Here you break the area into quadrants. To the northeast corner is the Hotel Jess also called the Perkins Block. This is a former hotel that is now going to be housing. The Hotel Jess is named after James Jess of Holyoke who was the owner from about 1900 to 1940s at least. His nephew William Jess ran the place and lived there for all those decades. James Jess lived at 41 Fairfield Avenue in Holyoke so he must have made a load of many on his ventures. The original owner was Levi Perkins who ran it as a store until his death in 1895. Levi Perkins is the nephew of Justin Perkins the Holyoke minister that went to Iran and then was buried in Rock Valley Cemetery.
This Levi Perkins called the building the Perkins Block and hence the name on the entablature.

To the northwest is the Holyoke House (Hamilton Hotel) that was a hotel that also housed the Holyoke Post Office and some stores.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is SDC16741-1024x768.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 41199_1220706242_4072-00032-798x1024.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 10045461-780x1024.jpg

To the southwest is small retail buildings. To the southeast is the passenger and freight train stations.

Sanborn map analysis of the Depot Square area:

Sanborn 1884 map where Parsons Hall is on the 3rd floor and the Holyoke House has ground floor stores such as boots jewelry hats bank toys millinery and more – post office in the back section of ground floor

Sanborn 1889 map

Sanborn 1895 map A and map B which has a note on the Carter Livery that it will be replaced by a large brick block

Sanborn 1915 map in 1913 the post office moved in back of the hotel – map B finally identifies the Hotel Jess

Outdoor Stop 4 – Sears Block

Indoor Stop 1 – Bistro / Famous Cafe

Indoor Stop 2 – Judd’s

Indoor Stop 3 – Devine Theater

Indoor Stop 4 – music hall

Sanborn map analysis of Judd Paper:

Sanborn 1915 map

Sanborn 1949 map

Sanborn 1956 map