The Sainte Rose de Lima Church is a trolley church in a trolley neighborhood. It has an interesting history.
stop 1 – new Sainte Rose de Lima School
This new school was erected in 1927 and was named after Joan of Arc. This replaced the classrooms that were in the second level of the wooden church from 1915 to 1927.
Sainte Rose de Lima Memorial
stop 2 – old Sainte Rose de Lima Convent
The nuns’ convent was at the southeast corner of Trilby and Grattan Streets from 1915 to 1927. Then they moved into the rectory from 1927 to 1951.
stop 3 – old Sainte Rose de Lima Rectory
From 1919 to 1927 the rectory was at the southwest corner of Grattan and Percy Streets. Then the rectory was moved to the convent for two years. In 1929 a new rectory was ready.
stop 4 – new Sainte Rose de Lima Rectory
The rectory that is still there was built for the pastors in 1929.
stop 5 – new Sainte Rose de Lima Church
The Sainte Rose de Lima Chapel was built in 1898 and in 1909 when the parish finally existed on its own it was a church. It was wooden. This situation lasted until 1927 when the church moved into the back wing of the school. Funds were gotten for the church and it was finally blessed in 1953.
stop 6 – new Sainte Rose de Lima Convent
A new convent for the nuns was built in 1951.
stop 7 – very old Sainte Rose de Lima Rectory
From 1909 to 1919 the rectory of the church was located at 19 Percy Street.
stop 8 – very old Sainte Rose de Lima Convent and School
The first classes for the parish children were held in a home on Percy Street.
stop 9 – Sainte Rose de Lima Cemetery
Advance to the cemetery page.
Sanborn map analysis: