The Riverside Paper Mill was built in 1866 at the end of the First Level Canal. Charles Chapin was the first owner. They ended up owning three mills. They produced fine paper. Another owner was Julius Appleton who lived in Springfield.
Associated Factory Mutual Fire Insurance Companies
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1949 map shows that mill 1 is gone but mill 2 is still there