At some point between 1889 to 1895 the northern portion was raised from 1 floor to 5 floors and the larger southern portion was raised from 4 floors to 5 floors.
The Cleary Building
In 1892 there was a firm called Fair Suit and Cloak Co. here.
In 1884 one of the tenants was Allen’s a household supply store.
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1889 map has the 4 floor Cleary there
Sanborn 1895 map has the 5 floor Cleary there plus an addition to its north
Sanborn 1949 map has restaurants on the ground floor