postmaster in South Hadley Canal or Falls

The postmaster in South Hadley Canal or Falls

namedatelocation
William Bowdoin, Jr.Jan. 21, 1820South Hadley Canal
Joseph Carew Aug. 8, 1833
Daniel B. GillettJuly 27, 1841
May 25, 1844South Hadley Falls
Obediah P. IngrahamMay 9, 1845
Otis GoodmanJune 5, 1849
Obediah P. IngrahamJune 21, 1853
James P. BentonNov. 18, 1857
Benjamin C. BrainardSept. 9, 1858
Hiram Smith Jr.July 11, 1861
John Kirkpatrick July 2, 1885
David C. DonaldsonJune 2, 1897
Gerbertrum E. BlissJan. 21, 1898
 Aug. 1, 1906South Hadley Falls station Holyoke
Thanks to Kelvin Kindahl for passing this postmaster information along to me.

Ball Block and Building

Ball Block and Building was started by Charles Ball. The block is located at 223 – 227 High Street in 1898 and the building at 211-215 High Street in 1870. The block is done in the Italian Palazzo style.

POSTCARD

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 9860766-791x1024.jpg

From at least 1882 to 1885 the smaller one is called the Mecham Block.

See the James Meacham watch maker ad.

Horrigan Brothers are also there.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is keys_0001-Copy.jpg

In 1935 there was a fire there. LINK

Sanborn map analysis:

Sanborn 1884 map

Sanborn 1889 map

Sanborn 1895 map

Sanborn 1915 map shows the connection to the adjacent blocks – name is Holyoke National Bank

Sanborn 1949 map shows these two blocks as separate but the Ball Block connected to the lower building to its north.

Sanborn 1956 map

Steiger Building

The Steiger Building is from 1899. It is located at 259-271 High Street. It was started by Albert Steiger the department store magnate. The building was made in the Beaux Arts style as was the Childs and the Woolworth’s Building.

Albert Steiger also had a home on Mountain View Drive that had its landscape designed by the Olmsted Brothers from 1924 to 1926.

The Grand Army of the Republic Hall was here at 271 High Street in 1900.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 9703448.jpg

Also the Daughter of St George met here in 1900.

Sanborn map analysis:

Sanborn 1884 map

Sanborn 1889 map shows a 1 story and a 4 story called the Preston Block

Sanborn 1895 map shows a 1 story building where Steiger’s would be with a 4 story building to its left. Perhaps they added 3 floors to the smaller one and put a new facade on all. It is still called the Preston Block.

Sanborn 1915 map shows that he had already bought out the Childs building and connected it on the 2nd to the 4th floors.

Sanborn 1949 map shows that Steiger’s Department Store now had grown over to the Frank Taber with connection on the upper floors

Sanborn 1956 map show that they took over the Woolworth’s Building during the 1950s and connected all three upper floors

Luther Taber

Luther Taber was a jeweler that moved to Holyoke in the early 1840s. His building was at 181-183 High Street. His son started another jeweler business at 281-283-285 High Street. Luther’s grandson Donald Taber was president of Ampad for 40 years.

His ads are always colorful. This next is his 1900 ad.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 9658760-1024x878.jpg

For a while in the early 1900s there was a George England there.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is sheets_0001-Copy-2.jpg

By 1900 and lasting to at least 1915 the Smith Brothers jewelers had taken over and it was being called the Smith’s Block.

Sanborn map analysis:

Sanborn 1884 map

Sanborn 1889 map

Sanborn 1895 map has store on 1st and office on 2nd

Sanborn 1915 map

Sanborn 1949 map

Sanborn 1956 map

Holyoke Warp

The Holyoke Warp Company was formed in 1869 as a weaving machine firm. Warp and weave are the terms to denote the waving of fabric by machine. The warp is the holding of the fabric strains apart and the weaving is the drawing of the fabric though.

Sanborn map analysis:

Sanborn 1884 map shows that the mill exists but the Sanborn does not detail it

Sanborn 1889 map shows that the mill exists but the Sanborn does not detail it

Sanborn 1895 map

Sanborn 1915 map called the Highland

Sanborn 1949 map it is called the Highland Mill (paper)