This building area is now a small building. In the 1885 city directory the L’Esperance Building was at 291 to 299 High. It was the home of Naumkeag Clothing. It was ornate but the facade is replaced.
In 1940 it is being called the Gallup’s Building and was built in 1910.
Sanborn map analysis:
Sanborn 1884 map shows nothing is there
Sanborn 1889 map shows a one floor building
Sanborn 1895 map shows a one floor building
Sanborn 1915 map shows a 2 floor building
Sanborn 1949 map shows a 2 floor building
Sanborn 1956 map shows a 2 floor building